2018 Elizabeth Wesley Award Winners

2018 Elizabeth Wesley Award Winners
Posted on 10/12/2018
Elizabeth Wesley AwardThe Elizabeth Wesley Youth Merit Incentive Award Program has been awarding monetary incentives to African-American youth in Tacoma-Pierce County since 1996. In the 22 years since, community members and local businesses have invested more than one million dollars in youth development. 

The award ceremony -- held in Lakewood in September -- began with several with music from Osheonna Green of Washington High School, followed by a keynote address from the President and CEO of the Tacoma Urban League, T'wina Nobles. Shortly following her speech, 9th, 10th and 11th grade award recipients proudly marched up on stage, stating their name, school and what career they intended to pursue someday. 

34 students from Franklin Pierce Schools were recognized this year with an Youth Merit Incentive award of $350.00.

This year's Youth Merit Incentive Awards went to: 

Washington High School 
Symone Bolden
Javar Crockett
Indira DeHoys
Jonathan Elam
Jordan Frazier
Daryl Fryar Jr.
Osheonna Green
Ashanti Hinton
ReAuna Hunter
Daiara Jones
Zhanaria Lee
Lindsay May
Precious Moore
Abdwaan Scott Jr.
Leroy Stoneham Jr.
Asiane Tune
Solana Tune
Taurean Tune
Teresa VanCleave
Wesley Weeks Jr.
Sitazia White
Venajah Woods
Tyshawn Yerby

Franklin Pierce High School Laylah Goodrum
Jadah Harris
Chayanne Iyun
Sasha Jennings
Rebecca Klumpenhower
Qaturi Vaughn
Yameari Vaughn
Hule Warren
Brea Wilson
Jordan Worrell
Cyeauna Young