43 seniors admitted to University of Washington-Tacoma as part of Pathways to Promise

43 seniors admitted to University of Washington-Tacoma as part of Pathways to Promise
Posted on 03/07/2016
Pathways to PromiseEarlier last school year, Franklin Pierce Schools signed a Pathways to Promise agreement with the University of Washington-Tacoma. The agreement allows Franklin Pierce School District graduates to automatically be accepted as freshmen at the University of Washington-Tacoma if they meet agreed upon admission requirements:

1. Meet minimum course requirements;
2. Graduate with a 2.7 or higher cumulative grade point average;
3. Score 480 or higher on each section of the SAT or 21 or higher on the ACT;
4. Submit a complete application including a well-written personal statement; and
5. Enroll at UW Tacoma immediately following their senior year.

43 students (23 from FPHS and 20 from WHS) have been admitted to the University of Washington- Tacoma and were honored by the University at a celebration on Friday, March 4. All 43 students have not confirmed their decision to attend the UW-T, but all 43 now know that the UW-T is one of their options as they wait to hear back from other universities.

Furthermore, some of these 43 students also signed up for the College Bound program just prior to entering high school. Under the College Bound program, they have met the minimum requirements to receive full tuition funding. To be eligible for the College Bound scholarship, students must enroll during their 7th or 8th grade year, come from a low-income household, graduate with a 2.0 GPA or higher, and be a good citizen including not committing a felony. (For more information about the College Bound program, visit www.ReadySetGrad.org.)

"The Pathways to Promise partnership and encouraging eligible students to sign-up for the College Bound scholarship are two of several ways that we are conveying to students and their parents that if they work hard, post-secondary education is attainable," said Dr. Frank Hewins, Superintendent.

Congratulations to (in no particular order):

Washington High School

Ian Abinales
Christina Ayers
Sarah Bang
Mikayle Boswell
Synekia Bouie
Corinna Cruz
Shainah Davia
Joseph Dayonot
Christine Francis
Joseph Jones
Chansodany Keth
Kenny Le
Jazmyn Marshall
Adrian Milanio
Khoa Nguyen
Brenda Ochoa
Claudia Pedraza
Isaiah Salas
Jeffrey Snyder
Nate Wilson

Franklin Pierce High School

Jacob Abetz
Lauren Baker
Miya Beckman
Sophallly Chan
Justin Child
Jinny Chin
Rebekah Collins
Alexander Dempsey
Ana Garcia
Antavea Green
Kassidy Gudyka
Tasia Hopgood
Zena Moran
Corey Nelson
Hannah Park
Tracey Porter
Lyda Real
Kelsey Smith
Chantelle Thompson
Davy Tith
Isaiah Tongedahl
Kelli Tonnesen
Jami Williams